Jnanpith Awards 2022 (Gyanpeeth Award 2022): Nilamani Phukan (56th) & Damodar Moujo (57th)

56th and 57th Jnanpith Awards (ज्ञानपीठ पुरस्कार) announced: Assamese story writer Nilamani Phukan and Konkani writer Damodar Moujo will be given.

Jnanpith Awards (ज्ञानपीठ पुरस्कार/Gyanpeeth Award)
Jnanpith Awards

The Jnanpith Award Selection Committee announced the 56th and 57th Jnanpith Awards for the year 2021 and 2022 respectively. It has been announced to give to Assamese litterateur Nilamani Phukan for the year 2021 and to Konkani litterateur Damodar Moujo for the year 2022.

Jnanpith Awards 2021 – (Gyanpeeth Award)

Jnanpith Awards 2021 (Gyanpeeth Award) - Nilamani Phoonkan
Nilamani Phoonkan

Born on 10 September 1933 in Golaghat district of Assam, Nilamani Phoonkan is an Indian poet and storyteller originally from Assamese language. His canvas is vast, his imagery is mythical, his voice speaks of folk urgency, his concerns range from political to cosmic, contemporary to primitive. The scenarios he cites are epic and original. He speaks of fire and water, planet and star, forest and desert, man and mountain, time and space, war and peace, life and death, yet he has not only a sage-like contemplative detachment, but with urgency There is also a deep sense of pain and loss. He has written thirteen books of poetry. Some of his important works are Surya Heno Nami Ahe Ai Nadiidi, Manas-Pratima and Phuli Thaka, Suryamukhi Phultor Phale etc.

This decision was taken in the meeting of the selection committee chaired by well-known story writer and Jnanpith awardee litterateur Smt. Pratibha Rai. Other members of the selection committee in the meeting were Mr. Madhav Kaushik, Mr. Syed Mohammad Ashraf, Prof. Harish Trivedi, Prof. Suranjan Das, Prof. Purushottam Bilmale, Shri Chandrakant Patil, Dr. S. Manivalan, Smt. Prabha Verma, Prof. Asghar Wajahat and Madhusudan Anand were involved.

Jnanpith Awards 2022 – (Gyanpeeth Award)

Jnanpith Awards 2022 (Gyanpeeth Award) winner : Damodar Mouzou
Damodar Mouzou

Jnanpith Jnanpith Award for the year 2022 has also been announced. Renowned Konkani writer Damodar Mouzou. Damodar Mouzou is a Goan novelist, story writer, critic and essayist. He has been awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award (Konkani) in 1983 for his novel Carmelin. Damodar Mauzzo was born on 1 August 1944. So far 4 collections of his stories have been published.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top